Reference Databases
 
About the Reference Databases
Unless noted as IN "LIBRARY USE ONLY" these resources are available from any internet connection. Access to most databases will require a valid C/W MARS library card number. Please contact the Northborough Free Library if you have any questions about using these resources.
 
For a few databases, access is available only to Northborough residents.
 
Please click here for an alphabetical list of databases.


Reference Databases

For all your research needs, the Northborough Free Library subscribes to a multitude of databases that provide authoritative information on a wide range of topics.
Unless noted as "In Library Use Only", these resources are available via any internet connection. A valid C/W MARS library card number is needed to access most databases.

Please click here for an alphabetical list of databases.

The following databases are available only to users with a Northborough Free Library card:

 
 
Ancestry Library Edition Ancestry Library Edition (In Library Use Only) contains thousands
of family history databases, including vital records, census
records, ship passenger lists, military records and lots more!
ASK YOUR LIBRARIAN FOR MORE INFORMATION.
Auto Repair Reference Center Auto Repair Reference Center contains detailed audio/visual content for nearly 25,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to present, including factory drawings, photographs, technical service
bulletins & recalls, wiring diagrams, maintenance schedules
and more.
Boston Metro Collection from Newsbank provides full text
and selected coverage from over 95 local eastern Massachusetts
newspapers from Abington to Worcester including
Metrowest Daily News, Shrewsbury Chronicle, 
Northborough-Southborough Villager, Worcester
Telegram & Gazette, and more.
Consumer Reports offers product reviews and ratings
on cars, electronics, appliances, and more.
Learning Express is the ultimate one-stop shop for test preparation and skill building featuring hundreds of  online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, TOEIC® test prep, and more.
 
Morningstar Mutual Funds Library Edition provides access to daily market news and commentary, snapshots on investments, eary-to-use portfolio management tools,and video reports and articles, featuring major market news and analyst insights.
Rosetta Stone
Rosetta Stone is an online language learning tool that offers 30 languages and 5 levels of instruction to meet a range of
community needs, including American English. Focused
activities and core lessons build reading, writing, speaking,
and listening skills. Mobile apps help learners to refine
and reinforce new language skills on-the-go.