divider


HOW IS A LIBRARY DATABASE DIFFERENT FROM A WEBSITE?

LIBRARY DATABASES:

·         Contain published works where facts are checked.

·         Get their information from professionals or experts in the field.

·         Are updated frequently and include the date of publication.

·         Can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects.

·         Are paid for by taxpayer dollars

WEBSITES:

·         Can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.

·         Have content that is not necessarily checked by an expert.

·         May not indicate when a page is updated.

·         Often are not organized to support student research needs.



Funding for these online resources is provided by:

 

Northborough Free Public Library (Ancestry Library, Auto Repair Reference Center, Boston Metro Newspaper Collection, Obituaries and Death Notices, World Book Web)

 

Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (Gale databases, Massachusetts History Online, Massachusetts Newstand)

  

C/W MARS (Facts on File Databases, Grove’s Art Online, NoveList)

 

Worcester Public Library (Learn-A-Test, Reference USA)

 

 






Skip to      B    C    D    E    F   G    H   I   J    K     L    M    N    O    P   Q    R    S   T   U    V    W    X    Y    Z 



Search Across Multiple Databases At Once
 
PowerSearch provides a sophisticated yet simple platform to search multiple Gale databases at the same time, or to select specific databases most appropriate to your search query.
 
 
Facts on File
Search all Facts on File databases together for expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics  important to American history, African-American history and American women’s history and to a range of scientific disciplines.
 
General Reference Center Gold
 
Not sure where to start? Choose this general interest database to search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, sports, and the arts and sciences.
 
literature research center
Information from the Literature Resource Center is combined with other Gale databases to give you access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline across the globe.


In addition to these databases, Massachusetts residents are eligible to use resources from the Boston Public Library. If you do not already have a BPL library card you can apply for an eCard. eCards expire after 3 years unless they are upgraded to standard BPL cards.

» Visit BPL's website for more information and to sign up for an eCard.



Search Databases by Subject
 
Business Economics and Theory
Communications
Criminal Justice
culinary arts
environmental studies
fine arts
garden landscape
GBLT
Military
pop culture
psychology
vocations and careers



Alphabetical Listing of Databases
 
About the Reference Databases
 
Unless noted as “In Library Use Only” these resources are available from any internet connection. Access to most databases will require a valid C/W MARS library card number. Please contact the Northborough Free Library if you have any questions about using these resources.
 
For a few databases, access is available only to Northborough residents.


Click Here
Academic OneFile the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles with authoritative and extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Updated daily, millions of articles and podcasts are available in both PDF and HTML.
African American History
 
African-American History Online provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.
 
American History Online
American History Online spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
 
American Women's History Online
American Women's History Onlinecovers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women's history in the United States.
 
America's Obits
America's Obituaries and Death Notices is a comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the United States.
 
Ancestry Library Edition
 
Ancestry Library Edition IN LIBRARY USE ONLYcontains thousands of family history databases, including vital records, census records, ship passenger lists, military records and lots more! ASK YOUR LIBRARIAN FOR MORE INFORMATION.
 
auto repair center
 
Auto Repair Reference Center contains detailed audio/visual content for nearly 25,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to present, including factory drawings, photographs, technical service bulletins & recalls, wiring diagrams, maintenance schedules and more.
 
Return to Top

Biography in Context
 
Biography in Context delivers nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. This Gale Group resource offers media-rich content in context by integrating reference material, periodical information and multimedia content that's updated daily. There are 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals with 50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events, plus hundreds of topic pages covering the highest-interest features.
 
Books and Authors
 
Books & Authors combines over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.
 
Boston metro
Boston Metro Collection from Newsbank provides full text and selected coverage from over 95 local eastern Massachusetts newspapers from Abington to Woburn including the Metrowest Daily News, the Shrewsbury Chronicle, The Northborough-Southborough Villager, and this complete list of regional sources.
 
Business & Company Resource Center
 
Business & Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
 
Return to Top

Contemporary Literary Criticism Selct
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC-Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study.
 
Return to Top

Educator's Reference 
Complete
 
 
Educator's Reference Complete is a collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports (most full-text) focusing on all levels of education, educational administration and policy.
 
Expanded Academic ASAP
 
Expanded Academic ASAP meets research needs across all academic disciplines from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Access scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers - with full text and images!
 
Return to Top

General Business File ASAP
 
 
General BusinessFile ASAP includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries.
 
General OneFile
 
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles, including most of the content across all Thomson/Gale databases. OneFile contains over 5,000 full-text periodical titles, and more than 9,200 titles in all, on a wide range of topics.
 
General reference center gold
 
General Reference Center Gold is a general interest database used to search magazines, reference books, and newspapers for information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.
 
Global Issues in Context
 
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
 
Return to Top

Health Reference 
Center Academic
 
Health Reference Center Academic provides articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug Abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
 
Health & 
Wellness Resource Center
 
Health & Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos, hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
 
Return to Top

InfoTrac Junior Edition
 
 
InfoTrac Junior Edition is designed for junior high and middle school students. It includes mainly full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books covering current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
 
InfoTrac Student Edition is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
 
Return to Top

Kids InfoBits
 
 
Kids InfoBits targets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate and visual graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine and reference content.
 
Return to Top

Learn-A-Test
 
 
Learn-A-Test from Learning Express offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Click here for log in instructions.
 
Literature Resource 
Center
 
Literature Resource Center contains up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
 
LitFinder
 
LitFinder covers world literature and authors throughout history. LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For students or patrons seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more!
 
Return to Top

Massachusetts History 
Online
 
 
Massachusetts History Online is a collection of full-text articles from 50 magazines and local newspapers for coverage of Massachusetts people, places and historical events.
 
Return to Top

MA Newstand
 
Massachusetts Newsstand from Proquest provides full-text coverage of major Massachusetts newspapers including the Boston Globe, Boston Herald, the Worcester Telegram & Gazette, and this complete list of news sources covered.
 
Morningstar Mutual Funds
 
Morningstar Mutal Funds Library Edition IN LIBRARY USE ONLY Morningstar provides access to daily market news and commentary, snapshots on investments, easy-to-use portfolio management tools, and video reports and articles, featuring major market news and analyst insights. ASK YOUR LIBRARIAN FOR MORE INFORMATION.
 
New York Times
 
 
New York Times This database includes the New York Times from January 1, 1980 to the present, including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review.
 
Novelist NoveList is a comprehensive online readers’ advisory tool. Search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides and more.
Return to Top

Opposing Viewpoints in 
Context
 
 
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
 
Grove Art Online Oxford Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Return to Top

RDS Business Suite
 
 
RDS Business Suite , an exciting Web-based subscription service gives you balanced and highly focused full-text coverage of company and industry news, management practices, and market research information. RDS Business Suite features more than 1,400 leading worldwide business sources, plus tens of thousands of tables with strategic data.
 
Ref USA Reference USA is the leading provider of quality informationation in business and consumer research. Use this resource to help search for jobs by location and industry, to research executives and companies worldwide, to profile a neighborhood, city or state and to track down address and telephone numbers.
Return to Top

Science in Context
 
 
Science in Context provides topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations, as well as articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics, and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards.
 
 
Science Online presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
 
Student Resources in 
Context
 
Student Resources in Context is for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. It  merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
 
Return to Top

U. S. History in Context
 
 
U. S. History in Context is for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
 
Return to Top

Virtual Reference 
Library from Gale
 
 
Virtual Reference Library from Gale is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Sources may be searched individually or together.
 
Return to Top

World Book
 
 
World Book Web includes encyclopedia and other reference articles with hundreds of thousands of primary source documents, more than 5,000 e-books, and 20,000 photos, illustrations, maps, websites and more. Choose among the 5 portals to search content designed for specific age groups and interests.
World History in Context
 
World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.